Here’s the longlist for the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction.

2 months ago 88

Literary Hub

September 15, 2023, 10:15am

Today, the National Book Foundation announced the longlist for the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction. The ten titles on the longlist were selected from a pool of 496 books submitted for consideration by their publishers; this year’s judges for Fiction are Steph Cha, Calvin Crosby, Silas House, Mat Johnson (Chair), and Helena María Viramontes

The finalists in all categories will be announced on Tuesday, October 3, and the winners will be revealed at the National Book Awards Ceremony on November 15, 2023.

Here’s the 2023 Fiction longlist:

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Chain-Gang All-Stars
(Pantheon Books / Penguin Random House)

Aaliyah Bilal, Temple Folk
(Simon & Schuster)

Eliot Duncan, Ponyboy
(W. W. Norton & Company)

Paul Harding, This Other Eden
(W. W. Norton & Company)

Tania James, Loot
(Knopf / Penguin Random House)

Jayne Anne Phillips, Night Watch
(Knopf / Penguin Random House)

Mona Susan Power, A Council of Dolls
(Mariner Books / HarperCollins Publishers)

Hanna Pylväinen, The End of Drum-Time
(Henry Holt and Company / Macmillan Publishers)

Justin Torres, Blackouts
(Farrar, Straus and Giroux / Macmillan Publishers)

LaToya Watkins, Holler, Child
(Tiny Reparations Books / Penguin Random House)

Read Entire Article